View Single Post
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Sat Sep 23, 2006, 08:12am
The Roamin' Umpire The Roamin' Umpire is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 463
NCAA fumbles on fourth down

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bob M.
... But for NCAA fumbles forward that remain (are recovered) inbounds, it's only on fourth down that they come back to the point of the fumble. For first, second, and third downs, fumbles that are recovered inbounds are treated identically to the way they are in NFHS.
This is a quote from my previous thread, which was getting a bit long, so I pulled it out to a new one.

I could (and probably will) go look this rule up myself, but it's worth clarifying here as well:

1) If the fumbling player makes the recovery, then he gets the ball at the point of recovery, correct?

2) What if the defense makes the recovery? Do they get it at the point of recovery, the point the ball was lost, or do they have a choice? And what if they recover and run with it?
Reply With Quote