Quote:
Originally Posted by ref49873
Are the linemen currently being blocked by another player besides the linebackers?
If so I would think this would be a chop block and could be flagged as such. This appears to be a saftey issue and I would not allow it to continue.
|
Nope... just the linebacker, and they were flagged for a block below the waist...
it's still a safety issue.
rule 2-17-2... Blocking below the waist is permitted in the free-blocking zone when the following conditions are met:
a. All players involved in the blocking are on the line of scrimmage and in the zone at the snap.
b. The contact is in the zone.
Since the linebacker was in the zone at the snap, but not on the line of scrimmage.... it is an illegal block below the waist.... Rule 9-3-2.