Thread: balk
View Single Post
  #40 (permalink)  
Old Wed Sep 20, 2006, 12:31am
SanDiegoSteve SanDiegoSteve is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Lakeside, California
Posts: 6,724
Quote:
Originally Posted by PWL
What if the count is 3-1 and a lefthander steps more towards first than he does home? This causes the runner to feint back to first, but the hit and run is on so he takes off for second. Because of the balk the runner gets a bad jump and tries to avoid the tag and inadvertently slides past second. Now the runner has technically gone past his award base. But lo and behold, the ball is still live. So now you have actually rewarded the defense for the balk if the pitch was ball four.

I take the rule to read that you leave the ball live because the penalty is more severe to the defense. This way the pitch counts and is the offense is rewarded by having the batter reach base. I still can go back and read post #11 that is from the MLBUM and it says to call "Time" on a ball four. It only says to let the play proceed in my opinion so the pitch will count and the batter is awarded first base. A more severe penalty. It also says call "Time" after all action has ceased on a batted ball. Just make sure all runners and batter have advanced one base.
Here is what the MLBUM actually says about this exact scenario of ball four/live ball on balk:

When a balk is made on a pitch that is a fourth ball it shall be ruled the same as when the batter hits a balk pitch and is safe on a hit or error, provided all runners advance at least one base on the play. Therefore, with a runner on first, first and second, or first, second and third, when a balk is called on the fourth ball, the batter goes to first base and all runners advance at least one base. If they attempt to advance more than one base, they do so at their own risk.

Also:

(3) If the balk is followed by a pitch that is caught by the catcher, call "Time" the moment the catcher catches the ball. Then enforce the balk. (Note exception in ball four situations covered in item (5) below.)

(5) If the balk is followed by ball four delivered to the batter and is caught by the catcher, call "Time" and enforce the balk unless all runners advance one base because of ball four. In that situation, play proceeds without reference to the balk.


Didn't the runner notice or hear the umpire(s) screaming, "That's a balk" at the top of their lungs? Why would he try to avoid a tag when he knows he is awarded 2nd base on the balk? He should also realize that if he goes past his awarded base, he does so at his own risk.

We can "what if" this thing all you want, the MLBUM interpretation says very clearly to only call Time on ball four if the runners aren't forced to advance.

You are making it harder than it really is. No reference is made to the balk when it is ball four and the runners all advance one base as a result of the base on balls. You are to treat it exactly the same as if the ball was hit. If you call Time, you are making a reference to the balk, which the rule clearly says not to do.
__________________
Matthew 15:14, 1 Corinthians 1:23-25

Last edited by SanDiegoSteve; Wed Sep 20, 2006 at 01:04am.