View Single Post
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Tue Sep 19, 2006, 04:27pm
Illini_Ref Illini_Ref is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Robinson, IL
Posts: 266
Spiking the ball.

I had this situation, and subsequent quetion, posed to me this week.

Team A is trying to stop the clock. They line up. A1 takes the snap, turns away from the line and throws the ball to the ground. Is this an incomplete pass (spike), or a backwards pass that may be recovered by B?

I believe it is a judgement as to what "immediately" means in the rule. I spoke to an official who talked to the game R about this. The R was just thankful that Coach B didn't complain!
Reply With Quote