[QUOTE=parepat]
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ref inSoCA
Why was there discussion?
There was discussion because the rule or case books do not specifically set out this act as a foul.
Second, because the act that the player did was one that derived the word that we use to describe a score. (IE touching the ball down in the end zone to score ....or touchdown) some of us thought it curious that this very act is now considered by some as USC.
If you call an USC everytime a player dives into the end zone, in my opinion is over officious and disregards the language of the rule which requires us to make some subtle judgments.
That is why we discussed it.
|
9-5-1 Any delayed, excessive or prolonged act by which a player attempts to focus attention upon himself.
What part of diving in the EZ when there is NO WAY you will be tackled is not trying to "focus attention upon himself?" Flag it without a doubt. The rule and case books cannot give EVERY example of focusing attention on himself.