View Single Post
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Sun Sep 17, 2006, 08:23pm
Middleman Middleman is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Posts: 169
Quote:
Originally Posted by MJT
Not exactly what the rule says. 2-23-4 says "For a place kick, the ball must be controlled on the ground or on a legal kicking tee by a teammate. This says it must be controlled, EITHER on the ground OR on a legal kicking tee. The foot is definitely not a legal kicking tee. If they'd do this, you'd have an illegal kick, 15 yards from the spot of the kick. Remember illegal kicks are treated as fumbles.
Not likely you'll see this on a scrimmage place kick, although it is certainly possible. On a free kick, don't allow it and you won't have to flag it.
Reply With Quote