View Single Post
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Fri Sep 15, 2006, 07:12pm
Mwanr1 Mwanr1 is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: CA
Posts: 259
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jurassic Referee
Um, I didn't say that I would award the basket to team A. I would award the basket to the team in whose basket the ball went through, which was team B. The ball was live when it went through the basket, so you have to score the 2-pointer(never a 3-pointer because it wasn't a "try", by rule). As soon as the ball clears the net, it becomes dead. Any contact during a dead ball is then ignored unless that contact is intententional or flagrant, or on an airborne shooter. You can never have an airborne shooter on someone throwing the ball at the wrong basket anyway.

The whistle immediately makes the ball dead on an attempt at the wrong basket. The ruling on this play will thus depend on when the whistle is blown.....before or after the ball went through the basket.

Make any more sense now, or am I still confusing you?

Yes - thanks!
Reply With Quote