View Single Post
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Thu Sep 14, 2006, 08:37pm
SanDiegoSteve SanDiegoSteve is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Lakeside, California
Posts: 6,724
Quote:
Originally Posted by clips2
runner on 1...fly ball to ist baseman....runner does not move from his lead off and causes 1st to dance and miss the fly ball....is runner 1 out who went to second or the batter because that is the fly that would have been caught..also, is this a delayed call or auto dead ball at time of interference
The runner (R1) is out and if the umpire feels that R1 intentionally interfered in order to prevent a double play, then the batter-runner is also out. If the umpire does not judge the act to be a willful and deliberate act to prevent a double play, then R1 is out and the BR is awarded 1st base. The ball is dead immediately upon the call of "Interference," and no runners can advance nor any runs score on the play. Rule 7.09(f)[formerly g].
__________________
Matthew 15:14, 1 Corinthians 1:23-25
Reply With Quote