Quote:
Originally Posted by Indy_Stu
Modified situation: 1st and 10 from A20. QB A12 takes snap, rolls to right, and intentionally grounds at A15. B declines the penalty (I know, they wouldn't, but indulge the question). What is the down and distance? Where is ball put in play? Does the clock start at ready or snap?
My answer: B declined penalty, result of the play was an incomplete pass. Ball is still live until it is ruled incomplete, doesn't become dead just because it was thrown or intentionally thrown to avoid loss. Ball is returned to the 20 for 2nd and 10. Clock starts at the snap.
|
This is where you're missing the point. As WH52 and others have said, an illegal forward pass is considered a running play and the run ends at the spot where the illegal pass was thrown. In your example the pass was thrown at the A15. That's the end of the run. If the penalty is declined that's where the ball will be put in play, not at the previous spot, A20.