I agree, but . . .
All -
Thanks for the posts. I agree an IFP is a penalty, for that matter any infraction that is accepted results in a penalty. Maybe a different way to state the question is, if a penalty is declined was there a penalty? B declined in the given situation. I don't make up these questions and situations, NFHS does. We just have to answer them
Modified situation: 1st and 10 from A20. QB A12 takes snap, rolls to right, and intentionally grounds at A15. B declines the penalty (I know, they wouldn't, but indulge the question). What is the down and distance? Where is ball put in play? Does the clock start at ready or snap?
My answer: B declined penalty, result of the play was an incomplete pass. Ball is still live until it is ruled incomplete, doesn't become dead just because it was thrown or intentionally thrown to avoid loss. Ball is returned to the 20 for 2nd and 10. Clock starts at the snap.
Another situation: QB A12 is scrambling in his own end zone. While trying to elude B players he facemasks B player while in the endzone to ward off defender. He escapes, throws a pass that is intercepted by B, and run back to the A5 yard line. Does B have any choices? Seems like a similar situation: live ball foul by A in its own end zone. Is this automatically a safety for B? Or do they have choices.
|