View Single Post
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Wed Sep 13, 2006, 10:16pm
Nevadaref Nevadaref is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 15,015
It's a little complicated.

You will need to clarify your situation before we can give you a true answer.

Do you mean that the officials started teams going in the wrong directions at the beginning of a quarter or do you mean that a couple of players became confused after a steal and began playing in the wrong direction? Or perhaps everyone began attacking the wrong baskets following a timeout.

The ruling is different and depends upon which situation occurred.

If the teams are going the wrong way to begin play at the start of a quarter because the officials screwed up, then all the action counts and the foul is a foul in the act of shooting. The offended player will be awarded two FTs. When the mistake is discovered the teams are simply directed to turn around and play in the proper directions. If you notice before shooting any of the FTs, the remaining FTs that have yet to be awarded would be shot at the proper basket. All of that is per NFHS rule 4-5-4.

If the case is due to confusion that happens at some point during the game, then the player is not considered to be in the act of shooting, since one may only attempt a try at one's own basket (4-5-1 and 4-41-2). No FTs should be awarded. If they are by mistake, then these FTs are unmerited FTs and subject to cancellation under the correctable error rules in 2-10.
Reply With Quote