Can someone clarify this rule for me.
Setting the initial direction of the arrow.
Rule 4-3-2 The ball is placed at the disposal of the free thrower after a common foul when the bonus free throw is in effect.
How do you get to bonus situation before the initial arrow is set?
This whole section is about as clear as mud. The initial direction is established after the jump ball to start the game...when and why would that change? What action would occur that you would change the direction of the arrow for a common foul?
I must be a brick