Thread: Basic Spot
View Single Post
  #17 (permalink)  
Old Fri Sep 08, 2006, 01:40pm
DJ_NV DJ_NV is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 170
Well this is interesting because we can have two different play philosophies, however only one is going to be right.

The first would be that there are 3 separate and distinct running plays during this down:
1) The first running play is the time starting with the snap, through the run by A25 and the subsequent fumble, and ending when the ball is recovered by A22 at the B-45.
2) The second running play starts with the recovery by A22, through the run and fumble and ends when A10 recovers at the A-45.
3) The third running play starts with the recoverey by A10 and ends when the down is over (TD).

Tecnically speaking, in NF, we only beanbag fumbles that are beyond the LOS. In this case, we have a bag down at the B-45 during the first running play for any foul that occurs during that time period (defined above). However if that is a running play, then that would mean that we would need a bag down for the fumble behind the LOS for an enforcement spot during the second running play. This goes against NF philosophy as there can only be one and only one Loose Ball play during any given down and such Loose Ball play always precedes any running play, so we have to look at an alternative.

The alternative is to rule that even though there was a fumble between the two "runs" that occurred beyond the LOS, the provisions in Rule 10-3-1-c are still valid because there was a fumble by A behind the NZ before a COP. Even though the Note in 10-3-1-c states that "The run(s) that precede such ... fumble is (are) considered part of the action during loose-ball play", it does not specify (more importantly, prohibit) that fumbles beyond the LOS that occur between runs that eventually end up with a fumble by A behind the LOS before a COP, one must interpret the rule that this situation is the intent of the rule and that the provisions of 10-3-1-c are still met.

Therefore, all of the action right up to the point of A10's recovery of the second fumble is all considered part of Loose Ball play and any foul that occurs during this period is enforced per the all-but-one with the BS being the PS. So we've still got A 3/15 @ A-40. Clock on the snap.

Now, even though this is Loose Ball play, the official is still correct to have a beanbag down beyond the LOS in this play. However, it is simply disregarded due to the subsequent action during the down.

Last edited by DJ_NV; Fri Sep 08, 2006 at 01:43pm.
Reply With Quote