Quote:
Originally Posted by MNBlue
I agree. I'm not arguing the rules, just their common sense, or lack thereof. If B2 would have committed a block in the back during the return, the TD gets called back. But if B2 gets in the QB's face and talks smack, the TD stands and the PAT gets penalized. Doesn't seem right in to me.
|
It's because it's very possible (even probable) that the BIB had a material effect on the play, giving the return team yardage and/or the TD when they would not have gotten it otherwise. But the taunt did not effect the result of the play, just as other USC's don't. They are penalized afterward - which can be painful for the fouling team ... but they shouldn't nullify the play that happened during the taunt.