Thread: Calling Signals
View Single Post
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Tue Aug 29, 2006, 03:27pm
FootballRef05 FootballRef05 is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: New York
Posts: 126
Send a message via AIM to FootballRef05
Good question, I don't think I have even seen this happen. Are you talking about the center call out out coverages or actually calling the play and snap count? I looked in the book and under 7-1-5,6&7 it covers encroachment and the rule states that defensive players an not be in the NZ calling signals after the ball is marked ready. What you are describing is not specifically cover however could fall under any act clearly intended to cause B to encroach.
I think the puropse of the center calling the signals would be to cause encroachment and should be flagged. Hard to say with out seeing it!
Reply With Quote