View Single Post
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Sun Aug 27, 2006, 03:25pm
Tim C Tim C is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Posts: 2,729
As Always:

""Voluntary release" is involved when tagging a base, not a runner. Such as on the pivot at 2B on a DP attempt. Or on a throw to 1B."

I disagree of course:

"Voluntary release"is ONLY considered on a BATTED BALL that is "in flight" . . . we kill this over-and-over everytime it comes up.

We even had documentation one time from Steve Mattingly who siad:

"I know the rule is clear but in a professional game it would be real hard to sell an out with the ball lying on the ground."

This answer was covering this play:

Ground ball to F3 who cleanly fields the ball and tosses to F1 covering first base.

F1 catches the ball three steps from the first base bag . . . clearly is in secure control and beats the B/R to first base by a step . . . B/R and F1 then collide and the ball winds up on the ground.

By rule, the B/R is out . . . in a professional game an ejection would follow if called that way.

Regards,
Reply With Quote