Quote:
	
	
		| 
					Originally Posted by Ed Hickland
					
				 NFHS rules prohibit a player form being in motion on the LOS. | 
	
 I never understood that to be the case.  As I've read 7-2-7, all I've gathered is that if a player started on the LOS, then they shall be at least 5 yards behind the LOS at the snap.  It only prohibits a player that starts on the LOS from being in motion on the LOS.
The phrase "...the player in motion shall be at least 5 yards behind his line of scrimmage at the snap if he started from any position not clearly behind the line and did not establish himself as a back..." is silent if the player starts as a back.
	Quote:
	
	
		| 
					Originally Posted by ChickenOfNC
					
				 A82 is split wide to my Linesman's side (I'm the LJ). A82 is set as a back. He then goes in motion, up to the LOS and then parallel toward the TE, then the ball is snapped. | 
	
 Since this player started as a back, the 5 yard restriction seems to be moot.
If A2 moves towards the LOS, then sidesteps in motion with his shoulders roughly parallel to the LOS, it seems he is a lineman.  As such, the motion seems legal to me (if sidestepping).  Of course eligibility may change, but I see nothing wrong with the side-step approach.