Quote:
Originally Posted by Indy_Stu
Thanks for posting. This was posed by our association as our "Play of the Day" and the answer that was given, well I disagree with.
My answer:
First, any time K catches or recovers a free kick the ball becomes dead. The officials in the given scenario let K45 run, but they should have stopped the action. Secondly, I am going with K’s ball on the R’s 45 yard line going in. I rule this way because 6-1-5 says K keeps the ball if he catches or recovers a free kick, provided he hasn’t fouled or first touched. Since R “scattered” they were not in a position to catch the kick - - no kick catching interference, no awarded fair catch. The ball was past the 10-yard free kick line - - no first touching, no R ball. See pp. 49-50 6-1-5 and 6-1-6.
Association answer:
Where? 1st & 10 from the R-45
Whose ball? Receiver's ball
6-1-5 (p.49)
If any kicker recovers or catches a free kick, the ball becomes dead.
Since the ball was not grounded nor touched by any member of the kicking team, the receivers will have possession 1st & 10.
I disagree because of rule 6-1-5 and the definition of first touching, 2-12-1 on p.26. The definition of first touching on a free kick is in the field of play before the ball has crossed R's free kick line, so I believe K has legally recovered and can keep the ball.
|
MJT's got it right, as usual. The 6-5-6-exception only applies to scrimmage kicks, therefore no R player being in a position to catch the ball is irrelevant.
This is kick-catching interference, and is explained in 6-5-6-a (emphasis added by me) : "
While any free kick is in flight in or beyond the neutral zone to the receiver's goal line or any scrimmage kick is in flight beyond the neutral zone to the receiver's goal line,
K shall not: a.
Touch the ball or R, unless blocked into the ball or R, or to ward off a blocker, or b. Obstruct R's path to the ball.
Penalty: Kick-catching interference (Art. 6) - (S33) - 15 yards. For interference,
R may accept a 15-yard penalty from the previous spot and a replay of the down or choose to accept the penalty of an awarded fair catch at the spot of the foul."