View Single Post
  #49 (permalink)  
Old Fri Aug 18, 2006, 10:04am
GarthB GarthB is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Spokane, WA
Posts: 4,222
"According to the rules, if Able goes to first (becomes a runner) when his time at bat is not over, the player who finishes his at bat just did 1 of 2 things:
1) Became a legal un-announced substitute (if he wasn't in the line up)
2) Batted out of order (if he was listed in the line up already, which Baker was)"


You'll need to show me that specific rule.

1. Able is still in the game, albeit standing in the wrong place. There is no substitute.

2. Although at bat mistakenly, he is following the order, after Able.

Carl has nailed this. This indeed ain't basketball. Bring the batter back to finish his at bat. It's that simple.

I believe the problem you're having is illustrated by your first statement. "I really believe that this is a BOO situation."

It isn't.
__________________
GB
Reply With Quote