Quote:
Originally Posted by HawkeyeCubP
I need to be convinced. Here's my logic:
8-7-G: "The Runner Is Out" - "When a runner fails to touch the intervening base...and the ball is returned to an infielder and properly appealed."
8-7-I Effect 1.2. (for above listed section and others) "(Live Ball Appeal) If properly appealed during a live ball, the runner is out."
POE 1.B. "Appeals" - "Live. In all games an appeal may be made during a live ball by any fielder in possession of the ball touching the base missed..."
Those are ASA rules, in the ASA rule book, specifically talking about LBA, with no inclusion of the phrase "unless the runner is trying to return," so how is LBA not available in ASA, (regardless of what the runner is doing)?
|
You guys need to find some fall ball to work. You're already driving me crazy with all this overthinking the rules.
Why would it say anything about the direction of the runner? If a runner passed the base without touching it, an appeal is available. Would you rule the runner out if s/he were continuing to 3B? What difference does it make where the runner is located (other than safely on the base) when a live-ball appeal is made.
This would only be an issue if the ball became dead. In the OP, the runner was retired, therefore, no longer giving her the right to any base. Live ball appeal or dead ball, the appeal is still available.