View Single Post
  #14 (permalink)  
Old Thu Aug 17, 2006, 03:30pm
lawump lawump is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Columbia, SC
Posts: 605
I had a long post discussing the concepts of "appeal" "correctable umpire's error" (as that concept is introduced in JEA) and "protest". But, alas, it was too convoluted.

Trying to be more straight forward, here are my thoughts, and why I think R1 has to remain at first.

First, this play cannot result in an "appeal" by the defense (as that term is defined by J/R and JEA). An "appeal" can only be for (a) missing a base (including home plate) (b) improperly re-touching a base (tag-ups) or (c) batting out of order. None of those occured in this situation, so the defense cannot "appeal".

Second, (and however) this play is definitely "protestable". This play does not involve a judgment call. The umpires clearly awarded the B/R first base improperly; they misapplied the penalty for a balk.

However, under Rule 4.19 (JEA explanation and discussion) a protest MUST be lodged with the umpires before the next pitch, play or attempted play. Here, the defense did not protest in time. The umpire screwed up, big time, but the rules clearly put the burden on the team disadvantaged by the umpire's mistake to clearly and properly protest...or forever bear the consequences of the mistake.

Thus, the defense here lost their chance to protest and R1 must remain at first, and the umpires must continue working this game after having commited a GROSS error (not a pleasant feeling).

I would further argue, that the PU's action of placing R1 back at-bat after two-pitches had been thrown, is a protestable action...that is the offense can lodge a protest of this action.

Specifically, my argument is that once the defense's time to protest has expired without a protest being lodged, R1 must remain at first. The PU's action of putting him back at-bat, in essence, is an example of an umpire correcting a protestable error after the period for protesting has ended. Thus, I would argue that the PU has misapplied Rule 4.19 and the offense could appeal this subsequent action by the PU.

Finally, I would argue that had the umpire's caught their mistake on their own BEFORE the next pitch, play or attempted play, they could correct it under Jim Evans' doctrine of "correctable umpire's error". But I would argue that after the protest period has ended, it is too late to use this doctrine to make the correction.

As an aside: the TD should be taken behind the woodshed and shot.
Reply With Quote