Quote:
Originally Posted by tcblue13
Our clinic leader pointed out that in the book the coach only has the option of the play or the award if the batter does not reach and/or all runners do not advance at least one base. If everyone advances safely, OBS is ignored.
In the situation I described in the OP, he said that we should award the Batter 1B and R1 home. That is based on the part of the ruled that cancels the OBS if ALL runners advance at least 1 base.
I am trying to read it that way but I cannot. Scoring the run on CO when the runner is not forced doesn't seem right.
Help
|
He's correct.
Rule 8.2f 1-3...
When the catcher or any other fielder obstructs or hinders the batter from striking at or hitting a pitched ball
1.The Umpire shall signal "delayed Dead Ball"
2.The offensive team manager has the option of taking the base award on the batter for catcher obstruction, or he may take the result of the play
3.If thr batter reaches 1st base safety and all runner advance at least one base on the batted ball, catcher obstruction is cancelled and no option is given.(my emphasis)
The NSA rule says nothing about runners advancing only when forced. They are all entitled to advance one base.