View Single Post
  #45 (permalink)  
Old Thu Aug 10, 2006, 01:59pm
gsf23 gsf23 is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 566
Quote:
Originally Posted by GarthB
The umpire adjudged this to be BI. I wasn't there. Those of you who were should continue to argue this.

As for it not being the catcher's job to get in position to make a play on a stealing runner....you must not have been a catcher.

Well, I guess there is no point to this forum if the only calls we can discuss are calls that we were actually there to see.

Yes I did catch. I'm not saying that he isn't supposed to try to get in postion to make the play. I'm saying that the reason you swing is not to distract the catcher, it is to keep him from stepping FORWARD to catch the ball sooner. Did I try that when I was catching? Of course I did, but I also knew that if I got hit with a bat, it would be CI on me for being up that close.
__________________
"Booze, broads, and bullsh!t. If you got all that, what else do you need?"."
- Harry Caray -
Reply With Quote