After studying the rule book last night, I think I'm going with illegal snap on that. In addition to 2-38.2, I'd cite:
7-2-1 3...Following the ready-for-play and after touching the ball, the snapper shall not:
d. Following adjustment, lift or move the ball other than in a legal snap.
__________________
"And I'm not just some fan, I've refereed football and basketball in addition to all the baseball I've umpired. I've never made a call that horrible in my life in any sport."---Greatest. Official. Ever.
|