Thread: Hit By Pitch
View Single Post
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Tue Aug 08, 2006, 03:21pm
MNBlue MNBlue is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Plymouth, MN
Posts: 741
Send a message via Yahoo to MNBlue
Can you point me to something in the rule book that states that? I'm fairly certain that is the intent, but if you notice the rule cites above, it doesn't say that the batter is awarded first base, it says they are entitled to one base. Also, there seems to be a glaring lack of a definition of what the rule book considers an award; meaning must it be accepted? I'm not trying to be difficult, just trying to determine if there is a gap in the rules that needs to be closed.
__________________
Mark

NFHS, NCAA, NAFA
"If the rule you followed brought you to this, of what use was the rule?" Anton Chigurh - "No Country for Old Men"
Reply With Quote