Thread: Hit By Pitch
View Single Post
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Tue Aug 08, 2006, 02:00pm
MNBlue MNBlue is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Plymouth, MN
Posts: 741
Send a message via Yahoo to MNBlue
Hit By Pitch

ASA 8.1.F
When a pitched ball not swung at nor called a strike touches any part of the batter's person or clothing.
Effect: The ball is dead. The batter is entitled to one base without the liability to be put out.

NFHS 8.1.2.b
A batter is awarded first base when:
b. a pitched ball not swung at nor called a strike touches any part of the batter's person or clothing.

Must the batter/offense accept the award?

Situation:
R1 at third. Best hitter at bat. Not as 'great' a hitter on deck. HBP. Must the offense accept the awarded base?

I can't find any rules in either code that force the acceptance; conversely, I can't find any that allows the offense to refuse the award. Granted, an intentional walk could certainly avoid the scenario, but does the option exist fo the offense?
__________________
Mark

NFHS, NCAA, NAFA
"If the rule you followed brought you to this, of what use was the rule?" Anton Chigurh - "No Country for Old Men"
Reply With Quote