Let me hijack this one a little bit and get some answers to something that came up on another discussion board last week (ASA rules).
Take the exact same secenario presented in the first post, but make this change: instead of R1 interfering with with F5, let's suppose that F5 was interfered with by the third base coach.
The "Exception" noted above (from rule 8-7-L) applies to cases where a runner commits the act of interference.
Would this same "Exception" apply when a base coach is the guilty party?
For my altered version of this play, would the ruling be:
a) Runner closest to home (R1) called "out" and the batter called "out".
b) Runner closest to home (R1) called "out" and batter still at bat, charged with a foul ball?
If (b), what if the pop-up was a fair ball? Would the batter be awarded first base.
The rule on coaches interference says that the runner closest to home is out on this play. My instict would be to call the batter out also.
But the "Exception" noted above reads as an exception to several rules that cover interference by a runner. The rule about interference by a coach is not specifically covered by this exception.
|