Quote:
Originally Posted by LLPA13UmpDan
rules are rules. But what i was indicating is on a play where u can just tag the bag. Now if u had to tag the runner for an out, thats different
|
I will continue beating the poor horsey here.
Re-read 6.05(j)
very carefully. It is talking about a play in which you can either tag the base, or tag the runner. It is a very poorly written rule, which contradicts common logic, which should tell us that the runner must beat the play in order to be safe, but actually says that
the play must beat the runner in order to be out, which is what is causing this entire silly debate.
7.08(e), on the other hand, suggests that runners forced at bases other than 1st (because the BR is not forced to first, by rule) are out if they do not touch the base before either they or the base are touched. This is the opposite of how 6.05(j) is written, and really should be the standard used in 6.05(j), if the rule writers wanted to end this "tie goes to the runner" crap once and for all.
Do you see the difference?