View Single Post
  #17 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jan 11, 2002, 12:30pm
112448 112448 is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Posts: 101
Quote:
Originally posted by Bart Tyson
OK i went home just to see this case 7.1.1. Sorry guys but this case play does not start with player control, i.e. Dribbling. Anytime you have player control and no one else touches the ball, you cannot be the last to touch the ball and you step OOB and be the 1st. to touch the ball inbounds. The case play 7.1.1 has nothing to do with player contro before he goes OOB.
Bart -

Sorry, but there is no player control during an interrupted dribble. As Hawks Coach and others have pointed out - if there is a player dribbling and he/she steps out of bounds that player has commited a violation as soon as he/she steps OOB, whether the player is touching the ball or not.

If, however, you have an interrupted dribble, which many have been discussing in this thread - you certainly can be the last to touch the ball, then step OOB, and then be the 1st to touch it inbounds. See 7.1.1 b and c in your case book. There is no player control during an interrupted dribble. See 4-12-1 in your rule book.

Jake
Reply With Quote