View Single Post
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Fri Aug 04, 2006, 01:51am
LLPA13UmpDan LLPA13UmpDan is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 362
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dave Hensley
No, not the same as if the ball hit an umpire. If the ball hits an umpire before passing an infielder other than the pitcher, as would be the case if the base umpire is in traditional B or C position, the ball is immediately dead, the batter is awarded 1B and runners advance only if forced.

That's decidedly different from "play on."
I always thought the umpire was in play. maybe i need to read some rules
Reply With Quote