View Single Post
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Thu Aug 03, 2006, 10:39pm
Dave Hensley Dave Hensley is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 768
Quote:
Originally Posted by LLPA13UmpDan
Same as if it hit an umpire
No, not the same as if the ball hit an umpire. If the ball hits an umpire before passing an infielder other than the pitcher, as would be the case if the base umpire is in traditional B or C position, the ball is immediately dead, the batter is awarded 1B and runners advance only if forced.

That's decidedly different from "play on."
Reply With Quote