Quote:
Originally Posted by Mountaineer
I'm not stupid - I re-read the OP before I wrote that - it didn't say the runner was off on the pitch or anything so I'm guessing their position (as is everyone) because it just says they were off the bag. I am assuming they were watching the pop and wandered off the bag - if they could be doubled up from that position they shouldn't be playing softball - baseball maybe. LOL! So, no, I have NEVER seen a player stupid enough to get tagged on a pop foul ball by the 3rd base bag. I am sure in your vast experience you have - but not me.
|
I didn't call you stupid. Maybe you should re-reread the OP, though. Unless the on-deck circle was drawn in the coach's box (in my "vast experience", I've never seen that, have you?), then the runner, when she interfered, was more than just a couple of steps off the bag. This could be 15-20 feet (probably the closest I've ever seen the ODC to 3rd base) or it could be 40 or 50 feet. In both cases, easy catch and throw DP... but even if it was drawn 2 steps from third base, if the runner is close enough to interfere with the catch, the runner is CERTAINLY within range of a tag if the ball is allowed to be caught - again, easy DP.
BTW - the DP talk is not really even necessary for making this call, since 2 outs is SPECIFICALLY pointed out in this EXACT situation in the rulebook. But the possible DP does explain the reasoning for the rule, and keeps it consistent with other interference situations where a runner has broken up a potential DP.