Thread: "The play"
View Single Post
  #15 (permalink)  
Old Tue Aug 01, 2006, 07:58am
chicago11 chicago11 is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 23
Quote:
Originally Posted by IRISHMAFIA
Actually, ASA 8.6 would only cover INT in a situation like this. We all know the INT ruled here is incorrect. I can find nothing in this rule which states that if the umpire rules a dead ball, all runners must return.

I have a feeling Merle just loaded the bases.
I am certainly not a rules expert, however, I think the proper ruling would be to at least give the defence one out. In this case the runner on first was basically giving himself up, which was a smart move to avoid a double play. I think that loading the bases gives the offense a distinct advantage. They were willing to give up an out and I do not think they should be rewarded by a mis-call by an umpire. The runner on third is a HTBT situation.
Reply With Quote