Quote:
Originally Posted by IRISHMAFIA
Score the run (I'm assuming R1 was halfway because the OP states R1 was running home during this fiasco), R2 is out (had no place to go), BR awarded 1B.
Play ball.
|
Using the "God rule", this version could not be overturned; not even by Merle, since it is strictly umpire judgement how to best correct the jeopardy created.
I suspect Merle may have use Mcrowder's #2, without using the "God rule". A dead ball was called, a dead ball shall stand. The only play being made at that moment was running R2 back, and that call cannot stand, as the rule was misapplied. R1 did not score, we cannot assume R1 would score. Cannot assume a later play on BR; so, bases loaded, no outs on the play.
Personally, I like Mike's (both IM and Mcrowder's #1) answer better; just betting on Merle's answer.