Quote:
Originally Posted by David B
Again this is not a difficult rule. I checked by BRD to make sure I didn't miss a new interpretation but FED and OBR are in sync with this rule.
FED 8-4-2k and OBR 7.09m
NCAA in 2004 made a slight change as the BRD notes "to clarify and be consistent with the professional rules".
So basically in FED or OBR the runner is out if a ball hits him after passing fielder but another fielder can make a play.
For NCAA a runner is NOT out if the runner is hit after the passes a fielder period.
And then of course at all levels if a batted ball is touched by a fielder and then hits the runner, the runner is never out (unless it is intentional interference; however he must avoid a second fielder making a play on a batted ball.
So in your play, once the ball passes the fielder, he is okay and not going to be out since F4 did not have a play on the ball.
Thanks
David
|
What, for you, constitutes "passes the fielder"? Can it be 20 feet away, or does it need to be in the "immediate vicinity" as Dave H. stated? Are you endorsing the "string theory"?
Thanks,
Dennis