Thread: Travel?
View Single Post
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jul 17, 2006, 10:34pm
BktBallRef BktBallRef is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 14,616
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jurassic Referee
It could only be a travel if A1 was the first to touch the ball after he lost it. If any other player touched the loose ball in between, player control ends and the shooter can then recover the ball and do whatever he wants to do- land, dribble,shoot,pass,etc.

See casebook plays 9.5.1 and 9.5.3.
I don't think either case play addresses this situation. In this case, the ball was fumbled by A1. A fumble is not an intentional act and it ends player control. A player can always recover a fumbled ball. No matter who touches it first, it's not traveling.
__________________
"...as cool as the other side of the pillow." - Stuart Scott

"You should never be proud of doing the right thing." - Dean Smith
Reply With Quote