Quote:
Originally Posted by LLPA13UmpDan
It in the umpires judgement where they would have gotten. Read Rule 7.06. Putting the runners (in the umpires judgement) where they would have gotten if no obstuction had occured nullifies the act of obstruction
|
I've read it several times.
LL 7.06 b
"If no play is being made on the obstructed runner, the play shall proceed until no further action is possible. The umpire shall then call "Time" and impose such penalties, if any, as in that umpire's judgement will nullify the act of obstruction".
We are nullifying the act of obstruction, not the confusion that the obstruction caused. Now then, BR may have gotten to third had everything gone smoothly, but it didn't. R1 ran back to third. Therefore, BR had nowhere to go, had the obstruction not occured. I will not link the obstruction directly to R1s retreat.
This may be one we have to agree to disagree on until we can get something from LL one... (one of their manuals have anything on this?)