
Sat Jul 15, 2006, 07:19pm
|
Official Forum Member
|
|
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: South Bend, In.
Posts: 2,192
|
|
Quote:
Originally Posted by LLPA13UmpDan
I saw this in another thread but wanted to make sure...but with a foul tip, is the ball dead as if the pitch was fouled off, or is the ball still live?
|
A quicky, but one easily found in the rule book, Dan.
A FOUL TIP is a batted ball that goes sharp and direct from the bat to the catcher’s hands and is legally caught. It is not a foul tip unless caught and any foul tip that is caught is a strike, and the ball is in play. It is not a catch if it is a rebound, unless the ball has first touched the catcher’s glove or hand. A foul tip can only be caught be the catcher.
Tim.
|