| 
		
	
		
		
		
		 
			
			Refering to the original post: 
 
If this situation had happened in one of my games by a member of the defensive team, I know that I would have given the delayed violation signal and ignored the violation if the shot went in, or I would have called the violation if the shot missed (barring any other odd circumstances).  If this act was by a member of the offensive team, I would have immediatley called a violation. 
 
But after reading this thread I wasn't sure, according to the rules, why I would have called the play as I indicated above, that is, until I went to the rule book.  I think that I, like many other posters to this thread, was concentrating too much on Rule 9 Section 1 Article 9, which deals with the foot moving or not moving over the vertical plane of the lane boundary. 
 
Instead of concentrating on Article 9, check out Article 6 of the same rule and section, "No player shall enter or leave a marked lane space".  In my opinion, in the original situation, the player has left the marked lane space by placing her hand in the lane.
		 
		
		
		
		
		
		
			
				__________________ 
				"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16) 
 
“I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36) 
			 
		
		
		
		
		
			
				  
				
					
						Last edited by BillyMac; Sat Jul 15, 2006 at 06:56pm.
					
					
				
			
		
		
		
	
	 |