Quote:
Originally Posted by wadeintothem
DDB is not a yellow flag.. its a DDB signal.
It doesnt signal OBS, it signals we have a dead ball pending developments..
The runner in this case already passed the base protected too and rounded 1st.. so there is no DDB, the OBS is not there. If was gone the second the runner passed the base protected to
There thats a succinct way of putting it.
|
No, it's an incorrect way of putting it.
An obstructed runner is "protected" in 2 ways - they cannot be put out prior to the base that they will be AWARDED, and they cannot be put out between the bases where the obstruction occurred. Yes, 90% of the time this is the same thing - but NOT always, and NOT in the case we're discussing. A runner who is obstructed while rounding first who will not reach 2nd base (Umpire judgement) without the OBS, is going to be AWARDED first base, but is PROTECTED between first and second nonetheless, and if put out between 1st and 2nd, should be AWARDED first base.