Thread: Coach managment
View Single Post
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jul 05, 2006, 10:53am
Jurassic Referee Jurassic Referee is offline
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hell
Posts: 20,211
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jimgolf
Maybe this is just semantics, but questioning a judgment call, "Why was that a block and not a charge?" and questioning judgment "What are you, nuts?" are two different things to me. One is asking for clarification, and one is unsportsmanlike.
Jim, the rules simply do not allow coaches to question judgement calls in any way, including both instances listed above. As Rut has already said(and I agree with his statement), if they do so, then they certainly do run the risk of getting whacked. Now whether they actually do get whacked or not when they question a judgement call is simply up to the tolerance level of each individual official.

I was just pointing out what the rules actually say in regards to what coaches are legally allowed to do- and basically, under the rules, they are just supposed to coach. If they do think that we misapplied or misinterpreted a rule, they can then get their captain to ask us for an explanation. Question judgement though? Never- by rule, but different in real life.

Last edited by Jurassic Referee; Wed Jul 05, 2006 at 10:56am.
Reply With Quote