Quote:
Originally Posted by rwest
...However, in this scenario it doesn't make sense to call R2 out on appeal for missing a base he touched.
What makes sense to one umpire may not make sense to another. One reason for rules is so that everyone is on the same page and to ensure that everyone plays on a level playing field.
One more question... When do we decide to use "common sense" and enforce something not clearly defined by the rules and when do we say there's no rule to prevent this so its legal?
|
As has been stated numerous times in this thread...
In making a ruling, the umpire may apply principles from other rules (not qute the same as "common sense").
Since this exact situation is not covered in the rules, 10-1 comes into play.
A runner is not allowed to retouch a base missed or left to soon after a succeeding runner has scored. That can be extended to a principle that a runner cannot touch home to score after a succeeding runner has scored. That princple can be used in the ruling on this play with the authority of 10-1.
Any time a game umpire applies 10-1 to a situation, it is clearly not expected that every game umpire would come to the same conclusion given the same situation. That is kind of the nature of 10-1.