View Single Post
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jun 28, 2006, 12:00am
SanDiegoSteve SanDiegoSteve is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Lakeside, California
Posts: 6,724
Nah, your partner just blew the call. It is not a balk. IIITBTSB. Almost.

You can look in any book you want, and you won't find this to be a balk. As long as the pitcher steps in the general direction of 2nd base, he can fake a throw, throw it into center field, over the fence (one base award on this one!) or to the shortstop, or any other fielder.

The rule about throwing to the base is for 1st base only, and states that the fielder must be close enough to possibly make a play on R1. This is because the pitcher is required to throw the ball to first from the rubber, he cannot feint to first without disengaging. Thus, occasionally a pitcher will step toward first from the rubber, and discover that F3 is not covering the base. He throws to F3, who is 10 feet off the base, while the runner is going back to the base. This would be a balk, because F3 has no play on the runner. This does not apply to any other base but 1st.
__________________
Matthew 15:14, 1 Corinthians 1:23-25
Reply With Quote