It was mostly to clarify that if he has yet to kick to ball, you cannot have RTK. If he runs and kicks or does the rugby thing, he is only awarded protection if "it is reasonable that a kick would be made." Once he starts running, he is going to get much less slack from me. If he does not stop and it is pretty evident he is gong to kick, RTK will be a hard call for me to make. If he is running and kicks it and at the same time they are trying to block the kick, I will not call RTK. That is my take as an experience referee. I got the same kind of message at the rules meeting I was at a clinic last week.
|