Quote:
Originally posted by ChuckElias
This doesn't really help, Tony. Just b/c he's still a player doesn't necessarily mean that he is entitled to the free throws, does it? If he's a player who is not entitled to be a player (b/c he should be disqualified), then it seems reasonable to me to say that he's not entitled to make the free throws. And that would fall under 2-10. Clearly, that's not the correct interpretation, and I understand that. But it seems to me that it would be more consistent with the rest of the rules to interpret it that way. I'll get over it, tho (I know, I know: a foolish consistency is the hobgoblin of little minds.)
Chuck
|
Try it this way -- suppose the scorer didn't inform you that the player fouled out until several minutes had elapsed. THe player scored some points, maybe even committed some more fouls (get a new scorer!), etc.
How much of that is correctable? None, right? So, why would the free-throws be correctable?