Quote:
Originally posted by Dennis Flannery
Chuck I will answer the first one for you, since the shot was taken and team control is now out the window, and then A grabs it again on an airball you would leave the clock alone. IN your case both A and B grab it simultaneously, you have a change of status in control. The key factor is simultaneously, if A got it first then B tied it up the cock would stay the same. If B got it first then A tied it up, you would have a reset, because the ball changed status.
|
I agree that you've stated it correctly and I understand it after reading the rules citation. My question, I guess, is why? If you don't reset when A recovers his own airball, why do you reset when A and B both recover A's airball? In neither case is there a change in possession. I don't see the rationale for making these cases different.
orignally posted by crew
Quote:
in situation 2 the terminology is the shooter is still a player until the table notifies the officials of disqualification.
|
This doesn't really help, Tony. Just b/c he's still a player doesn't necessarily mean that he is entitled to the free throws, does it? If he's a player who is not entitled to be a player (b/c he should be disqualified), then it seems reasonable to me to say that he's not entitled to make the free throws. And that would fall under 2-10. Clearly, that's not the correct interpretation, and I understand that. But it seems to me that it would be more consistent with the rest of the rules to interpret it that way. I'll get over it, tho

(I know, I know: a foolish consistency is the hobgoblin of little minds.)
Chuck