View Single Post
  #18 (permalink)  
Old Sun Jan 06, 2002, 01:02pm
112448 112448 is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Posts: 101
Quote:
Originally posted by 112448

As far as the other post (Schmidt) - that's a totally different question and the resumption of play procedure is NOT in effect, but bob jenkins, please give me a rule citation for this being a Technical foul for delay.


i've just gone through the case book a little more and i now disagree that you would call a technical foul in this situation. Page 60 of the case book, 9.1.2, the second sentence says,
"In this case (after a T.O.), the trail official uses the resuming-play procedure even though the first spaces are not occupied, wheareas in other cases, the spaces would have to be properly occupied before the official would proceed with the free throw administration."

The only way i see that you could call a technical foul in this situation would be 10-1-5c, but you would have to give a warning first.

I've just reread your original post and see that you had typed 10-1-5c (WHOOPS!)

I don't think that Schmidt handled this situation correctly. The R.O.P. procedure was not in effect and he did not warn the fouling team that they were potentially going to receive a 'T' for huddling - which is the only thing i can find you could possibly give a 'T' for in this sitch. My guess is that if you gave the coach a warning, he/she would have his/her players out there pretty quick.

If you anyone has a different opinion, i'd be glad to hear it (maybe i'm not reading things right), but please support with rules citations.

thanks,
Jake


Quote:
Originally posted by bob jenkins
Quote:
Originally posted by BktBallRef
No. You can't order a player to occupy a space. It's simply a violation if he doesn't and the FT is missed.
I disagree, Tony. If it's not after a TO, the defense MUST occupy the lower spaces. If they don't / refuse, it's a team T for delay.

See 10.1.5C (b)
[/B]
Reply With Quote