Thread: BACKCOURT
View Single Post
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Sun Jan 06, 2002, 02:13am
BktBallRef BktBallRef is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 14,616
Quote:
Originally posted by devdog69
Situation: A has a throw-in in their frontcourt, say near the free-throw line extended. What is the rule for throwing it into the backcourt from there? Rules, cases, please, and while you're at it, explain 9-9-2 and exceptions and note.
The ball can be thrown into the BC on any throw-in. Where the ball is inbounded doesn't have anything to do with it. You won't find anything in the RB on it because it's not illegal.

9-9-2 refers to a sitaution where A1 passes the ball from the BC into the FC, where it hits an official or the floor and then rebounds back into the BC were A1 touches it.

Exception 1 is simply saying that during a jump ball or throw-in, even though a player has FC status and establishes team control while in the air, he can legally land in his own BC.

As for Exception 2, if a defense player jumps from his FC, and intercepts a pass while in flight, he can legally land in his own BC.

The Note means simply what it says. It makes no difference which foot hits the floor first in Exceptions 1 and 2. The play is legal.

Are you sure you're the same guy that sent me the NF Part II exam for scoring and made 97 on it?
__________________
"...as cool as the other side of the pillow." - Stuart Scott

"You should never be proud of doing the right thing." - Dean Smith
Reply With Quote