Thread: Catch?
View Single Post
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jun 19, 2006, 09:08am
IRISHMAFIA IRISHMAFIA is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: USA
Posts: 14,565
Quote:
Originally Posted by fastpitch
I witnessed an 8U player attempt to catch a popup, the ball goes through her glove and ends up between her elbows. Umpire signals out. Is this a legal catch? From what I've read after searching other posts it sounds like it is not.
Speaking ASA

It is not a catch until firmly held by a defender in the glove or hand prior to touching the ground or objest other then another defender.

A player cannot voluntarily release a ball never controlled.
__________________
The bat issue in softball is as much about liability, insurance and litigation as it is about competition, inflated egos and softball.
Reply With Quote