View Single Post
  #26 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jun 12, 2006, 03:25pm
archangel archangel is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 336
Quote:
Originally Posted by SanDiegoSteve
The batter must return immediately to first after overrunning it. Making a left turn at the base in the direction of 2nd is considered an attempt. Merely turning around to the left and going back to the base after running straight though the base is not.

That FED ruling is on a batted ball only, where the batter reached 1B safely. On a 4 ball walk,the batter runner CAN be tagged out if he touches 1st and then overstepps or walks past.
Reply With Quote